top of page

ANAROSE
AND
PHARAOH'S GOLD

Suspense, Secrets, Survival

“AnaRose and Pharaoh’s Gold” by Mary Ann Bernal is the anticipated sequel to the award-winning novella “AnaRose and the Templar’s Quest,” and part of the AnaRose Action and Adventure Novellas series.

In this latest action-packed thriller, AnaRose showcases her specialty and skills by saving further artifacts from the sly and cunning grasp of espionage, murder, and suspense.

With familiar and familial characters, AnaRose travels to Egypt with a joint purpose: to recover an ancient golden ushabti from the black market, and to keep it from members of a secret undercover religious sect. This troubling sect seeks to utilize it to bring life to the ancient Egyptian deity Apophis and his agenda of darkness, disorder, and chaos throughout the world.

 

Along the way, questions, answers, kidnappings, and potential human sacrifices are in store as AnaRose, Jo, and Adam watch their backs at every turn and face off against members of an international conspiracy.

Despite its novella length, the reader can expect action, adventure, and suspense packed between the covers. Each page and chapter holds its own against larger books with more room for fluff. Inner dialogue is a writing style that advances the storyline with character development continuing from the first story. This clean novella is great for all ages, from teen readers to adults.

7.png
Five-Star-Review.png

Reader Views
Five Star Review

AnnaRosePharohs_CVR.jpg

A positive for readers and parents is that no negative language is found in this story, making it a safer reading option without compromising content; also, besides situations with the “bad guys,” the situations and relationships among the main characters present as positive, setting an example for the teen reader.

 

The characters’ relationships allude to possible “interests,” but the storyline is innocent in this category. While it has its major and minor roles, the reader will learn about Egyptian history, deities, and the selfish act of stealing and selling antiquities – serving a dual purpose of being educational and enjoyable.

“AnaRose and Pharaoh’s Gold” by Mary Ann Bernal is a standalone story but is complemented by the inclusion of its predecessor, book one in the series.

 

AnaRose is a positive role model for females of all ages. Realistically, the story has the potential to be devoured in a day/shortened period or savored for several days. Here’s to hoping there’s another adventure for AnaRose soon!      

Reader's Favorite

Reviewed by Pikasho Deka for Readers' Favorite

AnaRose and Pharaoh's Gold is a mystery adventure novella by Mary Ann Bernal. After a sudden fire at the museum, Dr. AnaRose Preston, an archaeologist and museum curator, and her assistant, Josephine Hughes (Jo), travel to Cairo, Egypt, in search of an ancient gold ushabti rumored to be on auction on the black market.

 

However, AnaRose isn't the only one looking for the valuable artifact, as the Cult of Apophis -- a covert network worshipping the Egyptian god of chaos and destruction -- needs the artifact for their nefarious plans. While AnaRose is working with local law enforcement and Dr. Adam Rose, Professor of Anthropology at the American University in Cairo, Jo is kidnapped by one of the Apophis members. Will AnaRose be able to rescue Jo and find the ushabti?

Fans of Indiana Jones or The Mummy movies will have a blast with AnaRose and Pharaoh's Gold. Mary Ann Bernal spins a fast-paced yarn bound to delight adventure mystery readers. The plot is concise and layered with humor, drama, and intrigue. Through her narrative, Bernal paints a colorful and vibrant portrait of the city of Cairo, with its sprawling bazaars and ancient buildings beautifully captured in the pages.

 

The setting is very immersive, and you really don't want to put down the book before finishing it. The author also infuses a lot of lore into the story, and you find yourself rooting for AnaRose to get her hands on the artifact. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it to readers who enjoy adventure and mystery tales.

bottom of page